top of page

Radio Discs of Woody Herman

Play List


(Don Fagerquist, Doug Mettome, Ray Caton, Shorty Rogers (tp), Herb Randel, Urbie Green, Jerry Dorn (tb), Woody Herman (cl/as), Bill Perkins, Jack Dulong, Kenny Pinson (ts), Sam Staff (bar/fl), Dave McKenna (p), Red Wooten (b), Sonny Igoe (d))


(Early 1951)

Sometimes I'm Happy (vocal by Dolly Houston)

Jet (vocal by Woody Herman)

Ninety Nine Guys (Vocal by Woody Herman & band)

Pennies From Heaven (vocal by Woody Herman)

Hollywood Blues

The Boy Next Door (vocal by Dolly Houston)

Sonny Speaks

St. Louis Blues


Composition X

Pass The Basket (vocal by Woody Herman)

Apple Honey

By George



Producer's Note: These were originally live performances (note the abrupt endings on many to cut off any applause). These live performances were put on transcriptions back in 1951. JOYCE RECORDS now brings these to you via the Radio Disc Series. The cover photo is a more recent one of Woody. He still tours regularly. Be sure to go see the band.

Audio player will take a few seconds to load

bottom of page